Account Administration

FAQ

I forgot my password. How can I access my data?
You can reset your password in my.sciebo. Log in with your user ID (not your sciebo ID or your e-mail address) and password. Select "Passwort zurücksetzen" and enter a new password.
How can I change my password?
You can change your password in my.sciebo. Log in with your user ID (not your sciebo ID or your e-mail address) and password. Select "Passwort zurücksetzen" and enter a new password.
I have used my 30 GB completely - can I get more storage space?
Employees (excluding student assistants) are entitled to increase their volume to 500 GB if necessary. Log in to my.sciebo, using your user ID (not your sciebo ID or your e-mail address) and password. Select the item "Volumen erhöhen" and tick the box next to "Ja, ich möchte 500 GB freischalten". To confirm, click the button "Volumen erhöhen".
How long is my account valid?
Your account is valid for 6 months and can be extended for as long as you are a legitimate user. To do so you have to reauthenticate every 6 months in my.sciebo. If you do not renew your account, you can use sciebo for another 6 months. After another 3 months your data will be deleted .
How can I renew my account?
You can extend your account in my.sciebo. Log in with your user ID (not your sciebo ID or your e-mail address) and password. Then click on the menu item "Account verlängern". For detailed instructions, see our manual.
My name or my mail adress changed. How can I implement these changes in sciebo?
Select under "register" your organisation and log in. Clic on the button "update my sciebo account now". By this authentification, your updated data will be transferred from your university to sciebo.
Can I still use sciebo after leaving my university?
Due to legal matters, we can provide sciebo only for members of participating universities. However, we offer a generous transition period. You can use sciebo for another six months starting at your last re-authentication. After another three months, your data will eventually be deleted. Of course, data stored locally on your PC will not be affected by this.
What happens with shared files and folders when I leave sciebo?
When you leave sciebo, your account will be deleted and your shares will be removed after a certain time. Therefore, you should inform your recipients on time and give them the opportunity to create copies if needed. A list of all files and folders you have shared is available in the web interface – just click on "shared with others" in the left menu.
How can I log out off my.sciebo?
Logging in to my.sciebo takes place via the central authentication of your institution. For technical reasons this system (Shibboleth) does not allow a logout. If you are using my.sciebo in an "unsafe" environment (e.g. a public PC), please make sure to close the browser completely after use.

Manuals